Financial Statement Analysis
- Ratio Analysis of Financial Statements (Formula, Types, Excel)
- Ratio Analysis
- Liquidity Ratios
- Turnover Ratios
- Profitability Ratios
- Profit Margin
- Gross Profit Margin Formula
- Operating Profit Margin Formula
- Net Profit Margin Formula
- EBIDTA Margin
- Earnings Per Share
- Basic EPS
- Diluted EPS
- Basic EPS vs Diluted EPS
- Return on Equity (ROE)
- Return on Capital Employed (ROCE)
- Return on Invested Capital (ROIC)
- Return on Total Assets (ROA)
- Return on Average Capital Employed
- Capital employed Employed
- Return on Average Assets (ROAA)
- Return on Average Equity (ROAE)
- Return on Assets Formula
- Return on Equity Formula
- DuPont Formula
- Net Interest Margin Formula
- Earnings Per Share Formula
- Diluted EPS Formula
- Contribution Margin Formula
- Revenue Per Employee Ratio
- Operating Leverage
- EBIT vs EBITDA
- Capital Gains Yield
- Tax Equivalent Yield
- LTM Revenue
- Operating Expense Ratio Formula
- Overhead Ratio Formula
- Capacity Utilization Rate Formula
- Total Expense Ratio Formula
- Efficiency Ratios
- Dividend Ratios
- Debt Ratios
- Debt to Equity Ratio
- Debt Coverage Ratio
- Debt Ratio
- Debt to Income Ratio Formula (DTI)
- Capital Gearing Ratio
- Capitalization Ratio
- Interest Coverage Ratio
- Times Interest Earned Ratio
- Debt Service Coverage Ratio (DSCR)
- Financial Leverage Ratio
- Net Debt Formula
- Leverage Ratios
- Operating Leverage vs Financial Leverage
- Current Yield
- Debt Yield Ratio
Contribution Margin Formula
The contribution is a significant concept every business owner should understand. To calculate the contribution margin, all we need to look at are the net sales and the total variable expenses. Here’s the contribution margin ratio formula –
Along with finding out the contribution, we can also calculate the contribution margin per unit formula and the contribution ratio.
Contribution Margin Formula Example
Let’s take a practical example which will illustrate this contribution margin formula.
Goodey Company has net sales of $300,000. It has sold 50,000 units of its products. The variable cost of each unit is $2 per unit. Find out the contribution, contribution margin per unit, and contribution ratio.
We will simply use the contribution margin ratio formula to find out the contribution margin per unit and contribution ratio.
- Company has net sales of $300,000.
- Number of units sold was 50,000 units.
- Selling price per unit would be = ($300,000 / 50,000) = $6 per unit.
- Variable cost per unit is $2 per unit.
- Contribution margin per unit formula would be = (Selling price per unit – Variable cost per unit) = ($6 – $2) = $4 per unit.
- Contribution would be = ($4 * 50,000) = $200,000.
- Contribution margin ratio formula would be = Contribution / Sales = $200,000 / $300,000 = 2/3 = 66.67%.
In this example, if we would have been given the fixed expenses, we could also be able to find out the net profit of the firm.
Explanation of Contribution Margin Formula
Contribution is a measurement through which we can understand how much a company’s net sales will contribute to the fixed expenses and the net profit after covering the variable expenses. So, while calculating the contribution, we deduct the total variable expenses from the net sales.
Doing that allows us to look at the fixed expenses and net profit. Contribution, thus, can be expressed in another way as well.
We can easily say that –
In situations, where there’s no way we can know the net sales, we can use the above contribution margin ratio formula to find out the contribution.
Use of Contribution Margin Formula
You may ask why we need contribution. We need contribution to find out the break-even point.
We will look at how contribution becomes useful in finding out the break-even point.
Let’s say that a firm’s fixed expenses are $100,000. The variable cost of the firm is $30,000. We need to find out the break-even point.
By using the concept of contribution, we will find out the break-even point.
Here, we can write –
Net Sales – Variable Cost = Fixed Cost + Net Profit
At the break-even point, the key assumption is that there will be no profit or no loss.
- Net Sales – Variable Cost = Fixed Cost + 0
- Or. Net Sales – $30,000 = $100,000
- Or, Net Sales = $100,000 + $30,000 = $130,000.
That means at $130,000 of net sales, the firm would be able to reach the break-even point.
Contribution Margin Calculator
You can use the following Contribution Margin Calculator
|Contribution Margin Formula =||Net Sales – Total Variable Expenses|
|0 – 0 =||0|
Contribution Margin in Excel (with excel template)
Let us now do the same example above in Excel. You must simply use the contribution margin ratio formula to find out the contribution margin per unit.
You can easily calculate the contribution margin ratio in the template provided.
The contribution margin ratio per unit formula would be = (Selling price per unit – Variable cost per unit)
The contribution would be = (Margin per Unit * Number of Units Sold)
The contribution margin ratio would be = margin / Sales
You can download this Contribution Margin Ratio template here – Contribution Margin Ratio Excel Template
Contribution Margin Video
This has been a guide to Contribution Margin formula, Contribution margin calculator, along with examples and excel templates. You may also look at the following articles to enhance your financial skills.